My first Apple/Raspberry JuiceWine

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

earl

Reaction score
Well this is my first attempt at a non-kit wine. I've made a cider and it is pretty good so here goes:

2006-04-01_214806_Set94_01.jpg

4 Gallons of Motts apple juice and 2 qts of Walmart apple juice

2006-04-01_214944_Set95_01.jpg

2 cans of frozen apple concentrate and 2 cans of Apple/Raspberry concentrate, and of course some chemicals.

2006-04-01_215124_Set96_01.jpg

Of course some Hard Apple cider I made about a month ago. Man that is goooooooooooooooood!!!!!

2006-04-01_215257_Set97_01.jpg

Here is the ingredient log, printed off of George's web-site.

2006-04-01_215434_Set98_01.jpg

Some empty containers.
2006-04-01_215526_Set98_03.jpg

And of course the yeasty-beasties eatin' apple and FARTIN "ALCYHOL"
smiley2.gif

Here is the recipe, What do you all think.

4.75 Galls of Apple juice

2 - 12oz. cans of Apple/Raspberry juice concentrate

2 - 12oz cans of Apple juice concentrate

1/2 tsp of K-meta

2 tsp of Acid Blend. I did a bit less then the instructions called for, thinking that the Raspberry would add some acid to it.

3 1/2 tsp. yeast nutrient

1 1/4 tsp wine tannin

1 1/2 tsp pectic enzyme

2 lbs sugar in solution.

Mixed it all up in a CLEAN AND SANITIZED primary then pitched the yeast. I did not wait the 24 hrs because I don't have the patience yet.

Initial SG was 1.062 at 66 degrees. That looks around 10 percent abv.

What do you think about the Raspberry? I do not have an acid test kit, hopefully that will come later.

earlEdited by: earl

O.K., 18 hrs. into it and not a sign of fermentation...hmmmmm

earl

Earl