Help!

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

cindilu8

Junior
Reaction score
Hi there I am new to wine making and making a mess! In september we crushed 100#'s of foch and 70 # of Lucy. I put the juice, minus the skins, in the sanitized bucket with the air lock. I didn't get camden tables instead I got potassium metabisulfite. The lady at the store wasn't sure of the amount and I used way to much. I put 5 tsp in one and 6 tsp in the other. I have yeasted 3 times now and not sure what to do. The color is clear and pink, very pretty and it tastes amazing, like grape juice. the hydrometer reading right now is right around 1.09. I really don't know what to do now or next...any thoughts??? I realize now I should have left the skins...Thanks for any suggestions :)

Baking soda, 1tbl per 5 gallons (introduces o2 into the must) I've used it a number of times on stubborn musts.

Don't, repeat, don't use it on completed wine

Ok, so did i make a huge mistake by not leaving any skins or seeds? After the baking soda how long do I wait?

Ok so this is really helpful and hopeful! After the 24 hours can i rack it into the carboy and all is well?

Ok now I feel concerned again... I put the baking soda in and stirred. NO volcano! What might that mean??? Thank you..

Welcome cindilu8