Gravity not dropping

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

jwmaverick

Junior
Reaction score
Making a fruit base and and the specific gravity started at 1.090 in stage 1. It is supposed to drop to 1.040 in 5 or so days. It's been 10 days now and the gravity has only dropped to 1.088. What needs to be done to get to the 1.040? It's almost as if the fermentation did not start after adding the yeast. The temp of the must is within the proper range.

Welcome Jwmaverick and please provide moredetails on the actual recipe or kitthat you used including the type of yeast and how you prepared the yeast.

Thanks

I'm just a beginner, but it sounds like you yeast didn't start working, don't do anything till someone with more expierience posts, but maybe something stopped the yeast, PH or acid level? or the yeast was not good to start, I would check the PH with a test paper strip to see if it is within the proper range, then take a cup of warm water 90-100 degree's tablespoon of sugar and put the yeast in and proof it, it will start foaming if it's OK, then mix it into the batch. It should have bubbled out of the airlock after the first day. I use an airlock on my primary, some people don't.

The Fruit wine base was the Vinter's Harvest Peach. I'm making the 3 gallon reciepe and the yeast I used was the Red Star = Cote des Blancs. The instructions stated to add the Peaches, water, sugar, acid blend, yeast nutrient, peptic enzyme, wine tannin and Campden tabletsand let sit overnight for the SO2 to release. The next day, I sprinkled the yeast on top of the must with no stirring. Then I gently stirred each day after that as directed.