Extended maceraction

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

zadvocate

Reaction score
I have a super Tuscan blend fermenting right now that I was planning on doing an extended maceration on. It's in a 20 gallon brute garbage can. I was going to cover the top of the cap with cling wrap daily to protect from oxygen. I've never done this before and was wondering does it require daily punch downs to?

Just cover it loosely with a tarp and punch the cap two-three times a day. During fermentation it gives off gases so no need to worry about oxygen. What's your definition of extended?

With extended maceration, you really need to keep oxygen off the top. The more you can approximate a variable capacity tank the better. I have run three batches in the past, 18 days, 28 days, and 39 days of total skin contact. I don't have a VC tank, so I used a piece of plastic on top of the skins, on top of that I had a board cut to the proper size circle, and on top of the stainless vat another piece of plastic. I used CO2 to gas the headspace daily. I opened just the top plastic and pushed down on the board to submerge the cap, then covered and re-gassed. The cap will eventually fall to the bottom if you go long enough.

A few days ago I opened one of the 2002 Sonoma Cabs (39 days skins, 12months barrel), and it still has mouth filling tannins and fruit, it was undrinkable for at least 5yrs after bottling, that's part of the reason I still have bottles (magnums) in the cellar. A winemaker friend of mine told me I didn't leave it long enough; he routinely goes 60+ days running ML with the skins.

It was interesting, but I'm not suggesting anything here, just relating my experience; I'm getting too old to wait 15yrs for a Cab to come around.

2002 Cab.jpg

2002 Cab 2.jpg

Last edited: