Mosti Mondiale Degassing Question

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

DenverDan

Junior
Reaction score
I am at the point of degassing my MM Valle del Sol kit.

I transfered to the carboy and started degassing with the drill attachment. My question is that there did not seem to be a lot of gas being released. The SG seemed fine (0.995) and fermentation looked good and I saw no gas being released at secondary fermentation when I started to degas after transfer.

Is it normal that not much gas will be stuck in the wine? Does altitute affect the amount of gas that is trapped in the wine (at about 5300 ft). Granted, this is my first time ever making wine but I didn't see any significant about of bubbles and a little concerned.

Dan,

After secondary fermentation is complete, there is normally a significant amount of carbon dioxidie in the wine. This will be represented by a lack of clarity in the wine, for one. If your red wine looks kind of red in the carboy instead of black, then the light that is entering the liquid is being bounced back toward you by gas bubbles or solids suspended in the liquid.

The drill direction will make a difference as to whether the CO2 is 'pushed off' in waves. I used to use the drill and it didn't kick out any CO2 until I had accidentally reversed the direction when picking up the drill one time and then joila - the gas came off. For curiousity's sake, I would try it again with the drill in a reverse direction and then test for results at different speeds. Also, you can use a Vacuvin to see if any CO2 comes off - I normally use the Vacuvin after the drill.

- JimEdited by: JimCook

Thanks for the information. Right now my problem is that I have an old school drill that only goes in one direction. I also don't have a vacuvin.