Blackberry kit

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

greenbean

Reaction score
Well I couldn't wait any longer for the blackberry vines to start producing. So I went to the wine shop in Little Rock (sorry George) I was already in the area. and bought a 96 oz. can a Blackberry Base from Vintner's Harevest. I'm going to make a 3 gal. batch because I want a full bodied wine. This is my first time doing this from a can. Normally I use fruit but I sort of like not having to destem all those little black buggers.

96 oz. can Blackberry

2.6 gal. water

7 lbs. sugar

3 1/2 tsp. acid blend

2 1/2 tsp. yeast nutrient

1 tsp. pectic enzyme

3 campden tabs

1 pkg. Red Star Cote des Blancs

ChrisEdited by: greenbean

What is the starting SG? Do you think it will have enough tannin without adding any powder? I think it will with that much fruit. Do you test acid or ph? You might have to sweeten up a smidgen because of high acid or low ph. Maybe more than a smidgen if the PA is as high as I suspect. Sounds good.

smiley20.gif

I have two batches of blackberry going made with the Vintners Harvest...3 gallon and 5 gallon.

Used my newest toy a 50 g x 0.01 gscale to weigh out the metabisulfite and it worked like a charm!

Chris,

Don't apologize for shopping with a local store. I am not in the business to take business away from local stores, as long as they do a good job of taking care of their wine making customers. If you have local store and they take care of your needs, then by all means, support them.

I am in business to increase awareness in the hobby and serve those wine makers that do not have a convenient local store. I will also gladly take customers where their local store is not customer service oriented.

My local store is customer oriented. They just happen to be 70 miles away and alittle higher than you on some things