Chilean grapes!!!! Newbie!!

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

nayrea143

Reaction score
I will be doing my first crush very soon and will be ordering my grapes this week. I want to do a blend and would like to crush and ferment them together. And suggestions on type or ratio??? I am looking to do about 200 lbs total. Using a 14.5 demijohn and some small carboys or one gallon jugs.

Sent from my iPhone using Wine Making

What are you blending?

FWIW, I'm also doing a field blend. I'm using Cab Sauv, Syrah and Merlot. 108lbs total. 3 lugs of Cab, 2 Syrah, and 1 Merlot.

I haven't decided yet. This is my first time and have heard from some people that not all grapes can be blended in the crush and have to be done separately. ImageUploadedByWine Making1395685785.259267.jpg these are my choices.

What are you blending?

FWIW, I'm also doing a field blend. I'm using Cab Sauv, Syrah and Merlot. 108lbs total. 3 lugs of Cab, 2 Syrah, and 1 Merlot.

That's the blend I was thinking just not sure the ratio. I suppose since I am doubling the amount your doing I could prob just follow your ratios. Will u crush and ferment them all together?? Same container??

Because my quantity is relatively small, I'm going to crush and ferment together. It doesn't make much sense to me to keep them separate. I've only got one all grape batch under my belt, so with more experience (and hopefully success), I'll move to larger quantities and would then consider fermenting separately and blending when finished.

I have done several batches of Chilean, here is what I suggest...

I would do a 80/20 cabernet to merlot.

Chilean grapes come in 1/2 lug crates (or hl) of 18 pounds.

For a 54 liter demijohn, you will need a minimum of 10 half lugs.