wine problem?

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

vcarnuccio

Junior
Reaction score
I am a wine maker in Philadelphia. I have been making wine for 29 years. I came across something that I never seen before....... if you are not familiar with this maybe you could direct me to a forum or web sight that is. My problem is this, I've made a batch of Merlot (grapes from Ca) in 09 and it was in a new 108lt barrel for 7 months I put it in carboys and after a month went to filter and noticed that the inside of the carboys were stained with the wine color and the bottom was layered in sort of a thick almost black syrup. I tried cleaning and it was difficult, I put Potassium Carbonate in with water and it cleaned it on contact. Any Ideas?
Vincent

Welcome to the forum!!

There have been several threads/discussions on cleaning the vessels that have been used. Have you tried using oxyclean? A lot of folks in here use oxyclean to get this type of grim off the inside of the carboys.

Right - the oxyclean is suppose to use O2 to get the stains off.

I had a glass carboy that had stains as well - i used a product call OneStep Cleanser - it uses the same O2 technology as oxyclean - it cleaned it up pretty good.

Wait - i may be misunderstanding - it sounds like you have it cleaned by using the Potassium Carbonate - you are trying to find out why it happened. :h

Does anyone know the cause? I have never seen this before.

Does it taste and smell alright? I have read that if the wine goes south and turns into vinegar it can stain the side walls like that - specifically it was a Merlot Vinegar that i read about.

smells and taste fine , the acid was adjusted a little high and the brought down other than that everything seems to be normal