Mango wine! First attempt with fruit.

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Cabernut

Junior
Reaction score
Since this is only my 3rd batch ever, I'm still a beginner. Here goes.

I bought a fruit making ingredient kit, originally intending to make a 6 gal batch of strawberry, but at $5/lb up here this time of year, I altered my plans. Mango! I decided to just go for it since I learn best hands on. I'm trying to make a 1 gal batch so if it doesn't work out, not much lost, only pride.

I bought 3 small cases of sweet yellow mangos, 29 in all. After peeling and deseeding, I ended up with about 3L of pulp. I'm going to follow the directions on the fruit kit, and only use 1/6 of each packet. No mistakes so far I hope!

The first packet was a ~6g mix of K-Meta and pectin enzyme. I used about 1g from that. Stirred that in and added 1.5L water for a total just under the 5L mark. I give it a stir/squeeze the pulp bag 2x daily.

I have two kinds of yeast. Lalvin EC1118 and K1V1116. Which would be best of the two?

My plans for tonight/tomorrow are to add sugar until a SG of 1.080 and pitch the yeast and add some banana for body. Should I add a white Welch's for a grape base?

My goal for the end product is a straight mango wine with hopefully great flavor.

Suggestions welcome:h

I USED lALVIN EC 1118 and 3 lbs. of MANGO flesh to each gallon. We loved it. Loren

I've read that EC1118 is kind of an all-purpose wine yeast. I'll give that a try for this batch. The first attempt is for function, finesse comes later.

According to my calculations, the 3L of mango flesh I started with is about 7lbs! Could be good!