Help! I have a hot mess on my hands

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

elewis

Junior
Reaction score
My in laws have a rental and in the backyard is a concord grape vine. The renters didn't care that I took the grapes and I told them I would prune the vines. This thing has not been taken care of and I'm thinking whoever planted the vines didn't know what they were doing. I am new to pruning and am not the best at it.

From the pictures you can see the vines have fallen on the ground since a post went down. Is there anyway to implement a new trellis system or is this a lost cause? Also you can see one vine is planted at one end and the other at the opposite end. I'm not sure how old it is but the vine is pretty thick. Any tips would be great!

image-1313812285.jpg

The whole thing

image-2190460638.jpg

Vine to the west

image-1988465276.jpg

Vine to the east

image-3845901426.jpg

View from down the middle

Oh and the new post you see has a dog run on it so I can't use that.

I don't know that much about grape growing except for what I see at the vineyards I visit, so take my advice with that in mind...

I would prune the crap out of those vines and reset or replace the posts. Most vineyards seem to prune pretty far down in the off season. I know it might take a few years for the grapes to come back, but at least they would be running on new wires and posts.

I know very little about winemaking and even less about growing grapes, but what Dr said makes sense to me.

Might be a little concerned about having a dog run that close to my grapes.