Total Newbie equipment question...

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

sfoss

Junior
Reaction score
So I made wine at my bosses house with his equipment. He has basic equipment. The only thing I have so far is bottles that I have saved and cleaned. Does anyone know of a place to buy a good basic kit. I don't want to spend tons but i don't want to buy junk either. I know I don't want the glass carboy. Would prefer a screw on lid for my fermenter. Other than that I am open to links with the basic kit that you prefer. Thanks in advance for your help!!!

would you prefer to start out small with a one gallon equipment kit? This would be your cheapest option then if you enjoy the hobby then you can add to the kit as you go.
http://www.homebrewit.com/wine-equipment-kits.php

Or you can get a 6 gallon kit at most home brew shops, this is more cost up front but you will not outgrow the kit quite as fast.

I would encourage you to find a local shop where you live. There must be other winemakes from the Western Iowa area who are here on this site. Perhaps some of the locals have equipment they would be interested in selling.

You may want to reconsider your position regarding glass carboys. There are reasons most home winemakers select the equipment that they do. Glass carboys are great for degassing wine. Plastic carboys can't stand that kind of vacume pressure.

Read all the articles you can about wine making. I found Jack Kellers wep site a good place to start.

Best of luck.

PCharles

Hi Shelly,
Don't know where in western Ia. you are, but there are at least 2 brew stores in Omaha. If that is a bit far, try one of our sponsers here. If you give them a call, I am sure they will help you with what equiptment you want and not try and sell you a bunch of stuff you don't need. Good luck with the adventure. Arne.