Salvaging my beginner mistakes

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

noob1337

Junior
Reaction score
Hello,

I am new to winemaking and found myself with 80+ pounds of yellow plums about to rot away about 40 days ago.
I got some bad winemaking advice and unclear recipe instruction, combined with lack of supplies, lack of knowledge and general panic.

The recipie I used had the following proportions that I multiplied for my plumb haul:
5kg (11lbs) plums,
3kg (6.6lbs) sugar,
4Litres (1.06gallon) water.

This is what I have done:

21 august: cleaning and sterilizing buckets and equipment, crushing the fruit and adding water but did not add any sugar. I did also not use any sulfides!

22 august: Started fermentation using bread yeast (yes, I know, very bad advice...) Airlocks installed in lids
Did not have a hydrometer yet so starting gravity unknown.
Punched down the caps and stirred the buckets daily for first few days, with good yeast activity.
Bubbles stopped after a couple days, as I hadn't added the sugar.

25-26 august: Added only 30% of the total sugarwater from recipie, as I was still waiting for supplies to arrive. I was thinking I could "delay" things this way but not wanting to stall fermentation completely either.

30 august: Pressed and "filtered" the wine trough cheesecloth. Thus also racking it off the sediment in the process. Back into buckets as carboys still had not arrived.
Added All the remaining 70% of the sugar water solution.
Added high alcohol wine yeast and yeast nutrient that had now arrived.
I dissolved the wine yeast in water with appropriate temperature but did not let it sit for very long (maybe an 30-60 minutes) before adding it to the wine. There was about 3-4 inches of headspace (!) in the buckets. Airlock activity started again somewhat.