Auto Siphon...3/8" or 1/2"???

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Rosa321

Reaction score
Sorry if this was already covered....I tried searching and reading the forum and couldn't find it.

Anyway........I'm up late, browsing wine making equipment and "toys" and I am considering purchasing an Auto Siphon. It's inexpensive and I am not very good at getting the siphon started by filling it with water. AND I always make a mess :D

Other than a few dollars, I am curious what the difference is between 3/8" siphon and 1/2" siphon.....The time it takes to rack? Is there any difference in how well they work? Is this a worthwhile purchase?

As always, I am just curious. :i
Thanks!!!
Rosa

If you are racking the 1/2 inch would be faster. But if you are using a curved racking tube or a bottle filler... the 1/2'' auto siphon takes a 1/2'' hose and would be useless... because they are compatable with the 3/8 inch auto siphon and the 5/16'' hose it takes.

Rosa...I own and use both.

I use the large one for racking. The small one is used when bottling because as fedup pointed out that's what the normal bottle filler fits. However, I must point out that there is a large bottle filling wand available that fits the large hose and is great for filling 2 litre pop bottles (some beer makers do this), and gallon jugs.

Please note that the proper hose sizes are 5/16" id x 7/16" od and 7/16" id x 9/16" od (id means inside diameter and od means outside diameter).

Steve

Rosa...I own and use both.

I use the large one for racking. The small one is used when bottling because as fedup pointed out that's what the normal bottle filler fits. However, I must point out that there is a large bottle filling wand available that fits the large hose and is great for filling 2 litre pop bottles (some beer makers do this), and gallon jugs.