Wine room - must haves, nice to haves??

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

homesteader26

Reaction score
So i have been making wine from fruit and grapes for about 6 months. While I wait for those to be ready I've been making DB and SP. I just purchased a few kits to get more wine in the "to enjoy down the road" pipeline. So DH says to me today that he could make a subbasement area a dedicated wine room for me to rack and bulk age my wines. I didn't think it would be worth having if I don't have water and sink and he says he can do that with large sink/and 6 ft counter space (insert giddy face here!!). So my question is what are the must haves like sink/counter and what are the gee that would be nice to have if you were building such a room. The space is about 12 ft x 12 ft and the temperature in the dead of our NE winter still remains about 50. Is that too cold for storage/aging? I would ferment inside like I have been doing but once racked into secondary would go there. Thoughts suggestions welcome!! Thanks!!

I would want cabinets or shelves to store the AIO and other equipment.
Electrical for the AIO.
Something above the sink to hang tubing to dry out.

Ideally, you would want a stainless steel counter that has edges and drains into the sink. A suspended sprayer to make it easier to clean pails.
Something like this:
ts5pr-8w00.jpg

commercial_sink_r.jpg

Last edited:
I want one of those sprayers. I set mine up in a 10 by 20 building (6 ft decated to storage) I got a utility sink, 10 ft counter space with cabinets underneath. Freezer, and 2 carts where my wine resides while making. I do have an electric hoist to move carboys from counter top to cart, cart to counter top, and counter top to floor for bottling. I do have the all in one and can not imagine doing this with out it.