Next step for my first batch

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

karrlot

Reaction score
This is my first time making wine.

I am making a batch of chokecherry wine.
My initial SG was 1.085 on 8/10/2012.
It has been in a primary bucket with an air lock at about 67-70°.
Tonight (8/20/2012) the SG was 1.006.
All of the fruit is still in the bucket.

Was my initial S.G. too low?
Is it time to rack it to a secondary fermenter?
Should I add some more sugar water to it now to boost the final alcohol level? Should that be done in the primary or secondary?

When I do rack it to the secondary, am I supposed to filter or strain it? If so, how?

Last edited:
Normally you pull the fruit out after a week or less. If you want to add sugar and boost the alcohol, it would be easier to do that in the primary. A lot of people rack into the secondary around <= SG 1.010. When you rack into the secondary use a racking cane or auto siphon, but no need to filter generally. Is the fruit loose in the primary, or is it contained in a straining bag?

how high of an alcohol level do you want? Having it start at 1.085 is going to give you roughly 11 1/2% to 12% and that is a pretty good ABV to have for a fruit wine.

You can get some paint bags at Lowes or Home Depot, they are about $5 and when you rack your wine, you can take the cherries and add them to the bag, this way you can squeeze the bag to get extra juice from the cherries.