Looking for advice on "global" vs regional focus

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

nhinshaw

Junior
Reaction score
This may be a bit more of a philosophical question over a practical one, but I would really appreciate any opinions from a group as diverse and knowledgeable as this one.

I'm a rather novice wine maker (this will be my third year) with a bent towards making wine the "traditional way". The first year I worked from juice only (didn't care for it), the second year was a mix of juice and whole grape (better but still not totally to my taste), and from here on out my plan is to only work with whole grape (or pressed at the vineyard still on the skins).

I'm in Chicago and have interesting access to grapes: there is a market that opens in September selling wine grapes trucked in weekly from California. The quality has seemed good, prices are fair and access is very easy.

However I'm also not too far from the wine growing region(s) of southwest Michigan and can have access to cold climate grapes from vineyards there. This year my options veer towards Marquette, Frontenac and Foch. It also gives me a chance to potentially have a closer relationship with the vineyard managers to get insight into specifics around growing.

The ultimate goal would be to eventually have my own vineyard where I am able to make wine from my own grapes.Though that is sometime off, my crystal ball says it would also be in mid-west.