Frozen Grapes

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

whino-wino

Reaction score
I have a friend who, like me, enjoys fermenting things. Being a farmer by trade, he also likes to grow things. About 5 years ago he put in some grapes. I don't know how many he planted, but he had quite a few left over after last fall.
He called me up a couple of weeks ago and asked if I wanted a 5 gallon bucket ofmust from some Marquette grapesthat he had kept frozen. Of course I accepted it and since it's typically below zero in this area in Jan/Feb I just kept the sealed bucket in the back of my pickup truck. I brought it in 2 days ago to thaw and just opened it about 20 minutes ago. It's not really "must" but rather a 5 gallon bucket packed solid with grapes....whole grapes. It's still frozen in the center so I'm going to let it thaw another day or so but I was wondering...

How much juice can I expect to get from 5 gallons of grapes?

Second, I do not have a grape press or steam juicer. What method of extracting the juice would you reccomend? Since they're frozen I expect them to be soft once they thaw and I think I can put them in a large straining bag and just squeeze the tar out of them by hand.

I'm asking because all of my carboys are full and I'll need to bottle one of the wines in order to free up a carboy to make this one. Should I bottle a 3 gallon, 5 gallon or 6 gallon batch?

After making my initial post it occurred to me to weigh the bucket. Not sure how accurate this is but it weighed 39.6 lbs on my bathroom scale.

First..... SWEEEEEEEEET!!!

Second...... I am not the expert you need. But I am sure one will weigh in on here.