age of fruit wines

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

countrygirl

Reaction score
i know this info has been touched upon, but i was looking for each persons personal experience and opinions...
what would be the ideal age of fruit wines?
do various fruits differ?
should fruit wines be consumed within a certain time frame?
what would be the maximum age before things go downhill?
just wondering:se

others can chime in, but to get things started...i am new to fruit wines....only started two yrs ago....my high octane peach is still going strong at two yrs....i dont see why they wont give you a good several yr run if properly stabilized....i am sure those w more experience will let us know more

I really depends on what kind of fruit its made from, how the wine was made, how good a job the winemaker did in creating it. We plan to keep some of our elderberry wines for 10 years or more, our blackberry also. We tasted a 30 year old blackberry, the sides of the bottle was black from all the anythocyanins that precipiated out but it was so smooth and fantastic that rebottled some of it to keep another 20 years just to see what happens. I have had strawberry that was 10 years old, it had lost some flavor but the nose was very impressive. On the other hand I have had other fruit wines that konked out after just a couple of years. So it all depends on what kind of fruit you are using, and how you make the wine, how much fruit and how good you are at keeping everyting clean when you bottle. Crackedcork

Rule of thumb here is 6 months min aging. You will fruit wines can take longer to clear. Fruit wines can be drunk early. No bottle aging like big reds.
Also 1.085 max starting gravity.