Bulk Aging Larger Batches - 26 Gallons

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

sluff

Reaction score
I have been making wine for about six years. I started out making all 5 - 6 gallon batches. I then made a few 11 - 12 gallon batches. I am now considering making a few 26 gallon batches. I always bulk age one year before bottling. I am looking for bulk aging alternatives for these larger batches that don’t require so many carboys. What are you using? multiple carboys, demijohns, stainless steel? I would rather not use oak barrels right now… TIA!

After an accident involving five gallons of wine, a glass Carboy and a trip to urgent care, I’ve switched over to using beer kegs instead of glass carboys for anything bigger than 3 gallons.

I’ve found that stainless steel beer kegs are readily available in a wide range of sizes. At this point, I have 5, 7, 7.9 and 15.5 gallon sizes. I bought them off Craigslist and Facebook Marketplace for prices between $20 and $50 over the last six months. Nice thing is big sturdy handles - although a full 15.5 generally gets moved on a dolly or with two people.

I'll second what @GSMChris says. Sanke beer kegs work great. You take out the central spear, and the top fits a 2inch tri-clamp. I have a large variety of sizes 15.5gallons, 5gallons and a couple of 50 liter ones. I have paid as much as $50 and as little as free.

The last bunch I got were 5 gallon size from a Kombucha business that was closing. 5 for $100.IMG_0010.jpeg