A Little Advice/Assurance Needed

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

arh13p

Reaction score
So the more I read threads on here, sometimes I think I am getting more confused. I realize there is alot of opinions on methods and what not. I have been making wine now for about 6 months and have about 50 gallons under my belt. I have learned a lot on this forum and I thank everyone who has answered much of my questions. Because of the varations in what people do when it comes to clearing their wines, sweetening and bottleing I thought I would just state my method that I though has been working well.

1) I ferment until about 1.01-1.00.

2) Transfer to Seconday. I do not add anything.

3) Once it stops fermenting for the most part (usually about 2-3 weeks)..SG 0.995-0.990 I transfer again into seconday with K-meta and Sorbate. I degas and have been adding my clarifier to it.

4) Once it looks clear (1 week), I transfer again to a seconday. Now I let it sit.......This is where I get the questions.

5) I let it sit about a month and backsweeten, let is sit a week and then bottle.

In the past I have bottled within 3 months so I never add more K-meta. Should I before bottling if it is around the 3 month time since I added last?

Do I ever have to add sorbate again if it was several months since I added it before I backsweeten?

I have about 25 gallons right now that is clear and needs to be backsweeted and bottled so I thought I would throw this out there and see if my methods are OK.

Thanks!

1). I always ferment to dry, but I'm lazy.
5). Kits wines like Summer Breeze I bulk age for a month as well. It works for me.

Do I ever have to add sorbate again if it was several months since I added it before I backsweeten?