Bulk Aging and Clearing

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Cookie

Supporting Members
Supporting Member
Reaction score
I’m rather new to the winemaking process (on my 3rd kit) and wanted to make sure I’m understanding the clearing process based on what I’ve read here on this forum.
It’s been 10 days since I racked the cab franc into the carboy, degassed and added the Ch, Ke, sorbates. And I had to top off the carboy with additional cab franc.
The wine is not quite clear and we’re leaving on a 10 day trip. The carboy is sitting in a room currently at 60 degrees f. From what I’ve been reading, it’s ok to let it sit in this cool space for up to 6 months before racking back into the primary fermenter and then bottles? Or at the very least until I return from my trip on January 28? Your advice is greatly appreciated!

Welcome to WMT first off!

Is this a Kit? Sounds like it is. If so make sure you added the KMETA (Sulfite) packet as well. Make sure you have an airlock inserted (well) and filled with solution like sanitizing (KMETA) solution and you should be good to go for months really.

Welcome to WMT first off!

Is this a Kit? Sounds like it is. If so make sure you added the KMETA (Sulfite) packet as well. Make sure you have an airlock inserted (well) and filled with solution like sanitizing (KMETA) solution and you should be good to go for months really.
Yes it’s a Master Vintner kit and I did add the potassium metabisulfite as well. So I should have that in the airlock instead of just water?

I have never worked with kits (they are actually not available here in Israel and not kosher as well) but in general, clarity comes with time in Red wine, so waiting a few months patiently is the best idea

Welcome to WMT