1st time entering competitions (Illinois & Wisconsin)

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

sailavie

sailavie
Reaction score
I've been making wine for ~5 years and beer for much longer, but this is the 1st year I've entered my wine into competitions. I was really looking for feedback beyond just my family and friend - and I would strongly recommend anyone looking for feedback and recommendations on how to improve their wine making skills to enter their wine into a competition. The wines I entered are -
2011 - Pinot Gris - won a bronze metal in Wisconsin
2011 - Marquette - won double gold (best of show) Illinois

I was very surprised with the Marquette winning best of show - I planned on entering it this year for general feedback and entering it again next year after it's had some time to age.

Dan

Congrat! Great to know others approve of your wine making skills.

I have a couple of Chardonnays I want to enter into a few contests. I am curious if others also like it.

I agree about entering competitions.

I like how the Wisconsin state fair mails you the judges notes. I still refer to them to tweak my recipes.

Congrats! I did not even know that the Wisconsin State Fair had a winemaking competition. Next year I will have to look farther afield than the creampuffs!

Congratulations on your Double Gold, best of show. :r I enter all the competitions I find about 7 a year and just entered the AWS national in Ohio for this week. I keep a binder with my judges notes. Again Congratulations :try

Apologies if I am hijacking this thread but is there a legit way to send bottles of wine within and across state lines? How do wine competitions legally receive bottles?