Trouble reading hydrometer

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

japaisley1

Reaction score
Hello fellow wine makers!
I am new at this and have a question. Any help would be great! I have a hydrometer and I did a reading on my first batch of a chiraz wine kit. Fermentation is 6 days in from when I pitched. It started fermenting on day 2:) today the reading showed just under 2 on the pic of my hydrometer below. What does this mean?
Thank you so much in advance.:)

image.jpg

That scale's title appears to read "SP GR COR", ie "specific gravity correction". I've never seen a hydrometer with that scale on it. The scale you probably should be reading is the one that appears on the other side. In the picture, it looks like a line of zeroes.

You may get some help from this thread.
http://www.winemakingtalk.com/forum/showthread.php?t=16574

Steve

Does this tell you anything else? Here is the other side. I thought It was just for the temperature?

image.jpg

I don't think that is a hydrometer, unless there is a third scale. I have heard of a combination hydrometer-thermometer, but have never seen one. Just did some googling, and the combo units that I saw are different from this one.

Steve

That looks like a vinometer. It has a capillary tube.

Do yo submerge it or just stick it in a wine sample?

There are no other numbers. I will have to get a hydrometer today. Thanks for all the help guys!!

Perhaps this is a proofing hydrometer (for distillers)? Could the scale going to 120 be proof?

Either way, I agree that this was meant for wine. Get a new one, they are rather inexpensive.

Perhaps this is a proofing hydrometer (for distillers)? Could the scale going to 120 be proof?

Unless this is different from mine I'd say it's not a proofing hydrometer. Mine goes from 0-200