Super-Kleer KC

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

pkcook

Reaction score
I have 5.5 liters of plain mead that is very cloudy. My question is two fold:

1) Can I use Super-Kleer KC to clear it?

2) The package says use with 5-6 gallons. Do I use the whole package for a little over a gallon?

Any help would be appreciated!

PC

I probably would bear it into two as it might strip too much flavor but not sure.

I'm just concerned about how to accurately break the liquid packages in 1/2 or 1/4. I've never used the stuff before and have less faith in the outcome of this mead than anything I have in a carboy right now
smiley36.gif

I dont think being a little off will hurt any as long as your close. This stuff works great though!

This mead was as clear as a crystal until I used some honey to back sweeten with and it has remained cloudy now for about 3 months. I'm hoping the Super-kleer will do the trick.

Will give it a try tomorrow. I'm back and forth with the world series and this forum
smiley36.gif

I don't know if I am too late, but I would not recommend using all of the packets. Not sure how to measure them out, but as wade pointed out, the SuperKleer can stip flavors. I like to try pectic enzyme first. A lot of the wines just have a pectic haze and a little pectic enzyme will settle things out nicely.

Based on the amount included in the package I would suggest to add ~1.5 teaspoons of each of the fining agents in the package of Super-Kleer to a one gallon batch. This amount should be proportional to adding all of it to 5 gallons.

The reason this product works so well is that is contains both kieselsol and chitosan and attracts both positive and negative charged particles.

Not to question you Masta but are you sure as to both of them, seems
like D2 the second part is of much bigger quantity in the packet.