Stiring during fermentation

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

K5MOW

Reaction score
I am very new to making wine. I have made a lot of beer and Mead. I just made my first wine kit. The kit is Vintners Reserve Chardonnay from NB. I would like to know if I should Stirring the wine during fermentation like you do with making Mead?

Thanks Roger

Welcome to the forums! It doesn't hurt at all to stir each day during primary fermentation. If you have a high end kit with a grape pack you need to stir even more with a punch down 2-3X a day that first week.

Welcome to the forums! It doesn't hurt at all to stir each day during primary fermentation. If you have a high end kit with a grape pack you need to stir even more with a punch down 2-3X a day that first week.

Thanks so much for the info. What do you meen by punch down?

Roger

Thanks so much for the info. What do you meen by punch down?

Roger

If your fermentation includes grape solids, the CO2 generated by the fermentation will cause them to rise to the surface. For red wines from grapes, you normally punch down 2-3 times daily.

I agree with above... Punching down means you knock those solids back down into the liquids, otherwise they might start to rot/spoil.

Sorry I have one more question on this kit. The kit states in the instructions that you need to rack the wine to secondary in 5 to 7 days when the wine gets to 1.010. Well my question is can I wait a little longer before I rack because I will be going out of town on on Sunday and wont be back to the 8 or 9 day. How important is it to be racked right at 1.010.
Thanks

Roger