still hazy

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

JohnnyB78

Reaction score
Ok I have a fruit mix working its mostly strawberry, with some pineapple, banana, and mango. So far its been ok, just moved along very fast up to this point. After only 3 days it was below 1.040. then it was all the way dry at .990 after only like 2 weeks. it looke like it was starting to clear, but there was so much lees I went ahead and racked again and dosed with k meta. its been several days and I havent seen any sign that is clearing again. Did I mess it up? is this normal? and if I messed up is there a way to fix this? and should I have added a Clarifying agent? any tips would be awesome.

Did you degas the wine good. I'm new at this wine making also, but I've read a lot of the post. You should degas your wine after it is dry and degas with the wine temperature at about 75*. After you have degased you can add a clearing agent, I use Sparkolloid most of the time, it usually clears in 3 or 4 days. Then I will rack it and check to see if there is any more gas. If you are going to backsweeten you will need to add Sobate. I backsweeten all my wine and add the K-Meta and Sorbate at the same time. Like I said, I'm new at this also, so don't take my word, someone else with more experience will show up pretty soon and you can get an answer from a more experienced wine maker.
Semper Fi

Racking it before it cleared would redistribute any settling yeast as well as waste wine. Wine clears better if degassed and at least 70-75 degrees F. You could add a clarifier if you did not want to wait for the long term natural clearing, but be sure it's degassed good first.