Should I Rack Now?

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

rstar26

Reaction score
Hi everyone! Im just getting into winemaking and am on my first batch. I am using a Wine-Art kit from Wine Kitz (Shiraz)
My Starting SG on the wine was 1.090 Instructions said should be 1.080 (but i am using a 19L carboy instead of a 23L so the must is a little more concentrated(must is however in a large plastic primary). The instrcutions stated that I should allow the wine 14 days to ferment. However over the last 3 days i've noticed that all visual signs of fermenting are gone (no foaming, no bubbling sound) I did an SG test this afternoon and it is currently sitting at 0.991(Kit suggests that it should be less than 0.995). (My hydro only goes to 0.990) Is it safe to assume fermentation is complete? Should i just leave is for the rest of the week (the full 14 days) or is it going to be better to advance to the next stage earlier (Stabilizing and Clearning) Any input will be appreciated! (All fermenting etc was done in a room that is pretty stable at 20 degrees Celcius.)

Last edited:
The number of days is only there as a reference. What is important is that a stage is finished before moving on to the next.

Visual signs don't mean much; SG readings mean a lot.

If the SG has been at that very same reading for three days in a row, it is finished fermenting; you can move on. Just never skip a step.

Last edited:
this may also sound really newbish, but should a sample drawn from the batch for SG testing be returned to the batch after testing?

Yes it can, as long as everything that the wine touched was sanitized first (wine thief, graduated cyllinder, hydrometer......or what ever else you were using)