Screw-cap glass bottles -anybody try them?

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

jethro

Reaction score
I am a newbie making my first two batches of homemade wine using RedStar Pasteur yeast and Welch's grape juice already mixed in the jug. I ony drink dry wines. So it is my intention to make my wine bone-dry.

My initial winemaking procedures

I started brewing my first 1-gallon batch August 30th.
starting SG was 1.101 in one jug and 1.121 in the other. (When I say "brew", I mean I uncapped the jug, threw the yeast in, added enough sugar to get my SG in the 1.085 to 1.100 range for dry wine. Nothing fancy.)

I started brewing my second 1-gallon batch two weeks later. I put both jugs into one fermenting bucket. Starting SG was 1.092

On Sept. 22nd, both jugs of my first batch read 1.001 SG and neither bubbles nor foam was visible in the must of either jug. So I recombined the two jugs' must and sealed it into a glass carboy.

I looked back through the beginner's forum to Oct. 2011 and didn't see an answer to this so I thought I'd ask.

My question

I have a bunch of 750mL glass bottles w/ screw-on plastic bottle tops. Has anybody used these to seal the air out of homemade wine?

I am guessing if I screw the plastic bottle caps onto wine in glass bottles, I would first have to add some kind of chemical to the wine to kill the yeast, in order to avoid an explosion. What is this chemical called ?
Or I could kill the yeast by boiling my wine, but I don't reckon boiling would improve the taste of my wine, eh?

I have read enough to understand the two different processes of turning must into wine, the aerobic process followed by the anaerobic process.

My equipment