Problem with Elderberry wine

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

banannabiker

Reaction score
I am fairly new to the wine making world, and new to this forum-so I don't know how to search to see if this question has been asked before. I picked enough Elderberries a few weeks to make a couple of gallons of wine. I wound up short by about a pound, so supplimented blue berries for the last pound (hopefully that wasn't a no-no). Anyway-when the SG reached 1.00, I decanted into a couple of gallon jugs, but found that there were small green "tar balls" stuck to the sides of my fruit bag, and even some of the goo on the sides of the fermentation bucket. There weren't a lot of them, but maybe enough to fill the bottom half of a sewing thimble. They were extreemely sticky (and green). I at first thought that maybe this was from a few green berries that might have made it into the mix, but later got to thinking that possibly it was from the few small stems that I know made it into the batch. I didn't think they would hurt anything-because I figured they would stay intact as a stem...but now I believe these might have been the culprit. Has anyone had a similar experience, or can you shed some light on this?

Thanks-Ron

The dreaded green goo, its not water soluable so you have to first dissolve it in veg oil, then wash off the oil with some hot soap and water. You can float the green berries out next time by washing the berries in a bucket of cold water and letting the green berries and bugs float out. how many pounds did you pick?

Crackedcork