Newbie. Recommendations Please!

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Beer2Wine

Junior
Reaction score
Hey guys!

Im brand new to winemaking and Im hoping you all can help me get things started in the right direction. Ive been brewing beer for quite a few years now so Im pretty familiar with a lot of the science of fermentation and especially sanitation! :)

I know wine making is a totally different animal in many aspects though!

Im gonna start with a few kits before I ever think about getting into 100% fresh grapes-to-wine. I sell wine for a living so I'm pretty familiar with tasting high quality wines, so I would love to go straight to the best possible quality kits. From what Ive read, it seems like Winexpert and Cellar Craft seem to be known as the best around. Could anybody please give me some good info on whats known as the best quality?

Many thanks!

- Mike

You will want to go with the high end kits but remember unlike beer which many of us also brew here wine can take 1-2 years to be good. Me myself I prefer the RJS Cellar Classic Winery series and En Primeurs as IMO they give the best bang for the buck. What kind of wines do you prefer?

I am not super picky when it comes to grape variety. To me a good wine is a good wine... no matter what grape it comes from. But if I had to narrow it down...

When it comes to whites I tend to lean towards the Sauvignon Blanc. Mostly Bordeaux or California. Not too hot on the New Zealand types for the most part.

With reds I would say the same for much of it. Bordeaux and California (Cab/Merlot).... However... I have been known to really enjoy a good Cru Beaujolais, Syrah/Shiraz (Rhone,CA,Austraila)... Pinot Noir (RRV being my favorite area for pinot)... and even something more obscure like Carmenere.