Italian floor corker incompatible with certain bottle finishes?

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
If you just purchased the corker, I would try to take it back to the seller and ask for an exchange. If this does not work, I would try to "adjust" it.

It is not off by that much. Before I cut and welded it, you might consider a "Charles Atlas" adjustment, like with a large pipe (e.g. 24") wrench, something with a lot of leverage. I would remove the top plate, protect the metal with thin strips of wood, grip the whole head and try to bend it to level. From the upper photo, it only looks like a matter of 1/32" to 1/16" and it should be good to go.

I should add that I was a Manufacturing Engineer for a couple of companies that made printers, banking machines and copiers. Two of the essential tools on the assembly line were a medium weight ball peen hammer and a pry bar, particularly when a weldment was involved (and the frames of the machines were always weldments). They are welded in a jig, but many factors such as cooling rate, could change the dimensions after welding.

If you just purchased the corker, I would try to take it back to the seller and ask for an exchange. If this does not work, I would try to "adjust" it.

It is not off by that much. Before I cut and welded it, you might consider a "Charles Atlas" adjustment, like with a large pipe (e.g. 24") wrench, something with a lot of leverage. I would remove the top plate, protect the metal with thin strips of wood, grip the whole head and try to bend it to level. From the upper photo, it only looks like a matter of 1/32" to 1/16" and it should be good to go.