Inexpensive vacuum pump at All Electronics ($20)

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

SLOweather

Reaction score
I'm a newbie here, but I'v seen mention of using vacuum pumps for degassing and such. While placing an order at All Electronics, I saw this 12VDC vacuum/pressure pump for $20.

10174.Jpg

1/4" hose barbs for vacuum and pressure would seem to be suitable for winemaking, and one reviewer says it'll pull 20" of mercury vacuum.

http://www.allelectronics.com/make-a-store/item/PMP-11/AIR/VACUUM-PUMP-USED/1.html

It would probably work ok but you really need a bunch more stuff like hydrophobic filter, regulator with gauge, overflow canister, and hoses and by the time you get all that youl;l probably wish you had just bought the All in One or a med vac.

20" will be enough to rack and degas, but I disagree with Wade on all that misc. stuff. A couple of feet of hose and fittings will get you going. After all, do you use all of that stuff when you siphon?

Considering one of the reviews:

"Pulls over 20" HG instantly!"

I wouldn't do it, even if that statement is a bit hyped up. If it goes much over 20", you would run the risk of imploding the carboy from too much pressure. I'd do it right the first time, skip ER, and get a All in One or med vac like wade said.

Rather be sure than be sorry.

Deezil, there is a big difference between vacuum hoses and racking hose. For rack the hose we use will work fine. For degassing it would cave in on itself and a regulator with a gauge is prety darn expensive sold seperately!

What Wade said. You want to control the vacuum and you need to isolated the pump from the liquid.

+1 to what Wade said! I even have the stuff to do it... but.... ummmm