hydrometer questions

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

jamesjr

Reaction score
Ok, so I'm an extreme newbie. But I love it. And I just got my package today of 1 gal carboys ferm k yeast gelatin bentonite hydrometer campden and I'm thinking about making wow. On account people told me Its fairly simple to make. I very first started with bread yeast and jug juice but couldnt stand it but I love the hobby so I'm looking to learn hopefully from y'all about doing it right and making some quality wine I can be proud of so any pointers are great. Right now I'm having trouble figuring out how to read a hydrometer what should the sg. Be for a medium to semi dry wine be before ferment and after? Also keep in mind I live in very rural fl. No brew stores around, not a lot of money to keep ordering to much stuff and all ill be making is 1 gal batches until I get good and perfect what I like thanks and god bless o ya any easy recipes would be cool to

Welcome....here is how to read hydrometer

Look through recipe section for a recipe. Also look through beginners section lots of good info there

[ame="https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GTvmYaQq6Mc"]https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GTvmYaQq6Mc[/ame]

If you have a triple scale hydrometer (I bet you do). There are 3 scales on it. 1 is "specific gravity". one is "brix". The other is "potential alcohol". They are all the same thing.