How well would beer yeast (in particular hefeweizen strains) work in wine?

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

ohchiz

Junior
Reaction score
im new to wine, just racked my first batch and it seemed better than expected so now im already plotting my next batch and probably getting way over my head with experimentation, but hefes/Belgian wheat beers are one of my favorite beer styles, i was interested in trying a banana wine next and wondering if anyone has ever heard of attempting something like this and how it would likely be to come out? hefes/Belgian wheats have kind of a clovey/banana/bubble gum tone to them from they yeast that i thought might be a good complement (i know i should probably try making some plain banana wine first though to try...). i don't know if beer yeasts would have lots of off flavors though in wine? or exactly what the alcohol tolerance would be. here is what i was thinking about using

http://www.danstaryeast.com/products/munich-wheat-beer-yeast

I make wine primarily but have dabbled in beer recently.

Try it.

But I can't see the why of it at all. If you like banana-tasting hefes, make some. If you like clove-tasting hefes, then make those instead. When you want wine, make a wine.

You can make wine with any yeast you want. Even bread yeast or just wild yeasts will make wine. You lose the control you have using a specific character wine yeast. And quality will vary widely. Repeatability? Forget it.

You can use any yeast to make a beer or cider, too - even wild yeasts. Same deal, you lose control, quality assurance and repeatability you have using a specific character beer yeast.