hops growing setup

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

keena

Reaction score
I'm looking to grow some hops this season and I'm looking ahead to plan my growing. Problem is I can't plant in the yard because I rent my house. So my idea is to grow in a 55 gal barrel. I could buy premium soil and mulch and what not for it this way as well if needed. Its my first time so let me know if I'm goin about anything wrong. I can then put a 20 foot 2x4 in the barrel for the plant to grow around. Anything wrong with this idea or does anyone have any other ideas they could throw my way?

Also any advice is greatly appreciated!

Do a few Google searches on Growing Hops indoors, very interesting reading, not too many successful indoor stories.
I wish you great success.

i forgot to mention that i would be keeping the barrel outside. so the main thing im worried about is space for the roots to grow being restricted to a 55gal barrel. Is this enough space?

my google searches have told me that a 55gal barrel cut in half to make 2 pots will work for the first year and be acceptable for the second year as well... but if i use a whole 55 gal barrel will the plant be good for a few years after that even?

if it wont could i just dig up the roots after year 3 and replant a rhyzome snipped from my own plants roots and start the grow over, or is this a bad idea?

like i said, im completely new to growing hops so i dont really know what im talking about here. lol

Last edited:
There is some really detailed info on growing hops, a quick search of "growing hops" gave me dozens of links

There is some really detailed info on growing hops, a quick search of "growing hops" gave me dozens of links