First try with whole house filter

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Winegirl

Reaction score
Ok, so I finally got to try the filter set up that Wade and many others have. My problem, why would it ever work correctly the first time, is that on the out side, I'm getting a lot of air/foam. The fittings are all nice and snug, what am I doing wrong?
Thanks for any suggestions.
Kim

I hope one of the more experienced members chimes in as I had a similar issue with air/foam the last time I tried to filter.

I thought maybe it was the pressure release valve on the filter housing but have not had a chance to do any specific troubleshooting since then.

Glad I'm not the only one that has problems. I'm beginning to wonder what's going on, seems I've had a lot of 'learning experiences' lately. I'm thinking maybe it wasn't degassed enough, I don't know if that would do it or not. I thought I was fully degassed as I had a vacuum pump, only to learn after that my pump would only pull 3" of vacuum and that is not enough for degassing. So I added clearing agents thinking I was degassed, it did clear beautifully, but maybe there still was gas.

from reading on previous posts on this matter, and other forums, some has expressed this problem if the filter has not first been saturated, possibly by first flushing the system with, as much as, 5 gallons of a kmeta solution first....once the filter is saturated, then the gassing/foaming situation ceases...granted, i have never used the system, but just figuring i would post what i have read online, not from experience...

Check for leaks in the connection from the filter to the hose. Yes you should run a bit of water through first to make sure the pieces of lint and so on are out of it. Also make sure that the filter body is tightened well to seat the 0-ring.