First timer. Too fast fermentation? what to do next? 100%% newbie in wine making.. and making red wine

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

AllaW

Junior
Reaction score
hello, winemaking friends! im new at wine making. have 3 rows of red wine grapes in Illinois and making wine first time. Picked it, squeezed it, let sit on the countertop for 4 days, removed the skins, put juice in the bottle, added wine yeast (1 pckg) and 300 g of sugar. Fermentation seemed active for 3 days and now it stopped and looks so dead...is it ok and what should i do next now? measure brix?, add sugar? or just let it sit more and wait? sorry, questions are not very smart, i know) forgive me, its my first wine ever)

Attachments

• 367885609_827924545458074_8506669471066317601_n.jpg
    367885609_827924545458074_8506669471066317601_n.jpg
    124 KB · Views: 0
  • 367758113_186536114443532_6932758903981879720_n.jpg
    367758113_186536114443532_6932758903981879720_n.jpg
    93 KB · Views: 0
First of all... Welcome to WMT!

Red wines typically keep the skins in the must. You removed them so you’ll make a lighter colored wine, more like a rose.

A hydrometer is a device to measure the density of the must. Typical starting points are 1.090 indicating there is sugar in the must. When the specific gravity gets to about 1.000, it is done fermenting. 3 days is not unusual. I’m assuming this is where you are. If so, then rack (siphon) off the wine into another vessel. Add 1/4 tsp of potassium metabisulfite (aka kmeta). Make sure the vessel is topped off so there is minimum air space in the vessel and put an airlock on it.