Dumb It Down For Me??

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

firejohn03

Reaction score
Alright I need some help. Can someone explain specific gravity and its importance? I am kind of lost. I would like to know the alcohol volume of my wine. Does SG play into this? I think it has something to do with sugar content? When is this measured, or what is being measured? Thanks for any help for a complete novice......:r

firejohn03 said:
Alright I need some help. Can someone explain specific gravity and its importance? I am kind of lost. I would like to know the alcohol volume of my wine. Does SG play into this? I think it has something to do with sugar content? When is this measured, or what is being measured? Thanks for any help for a complete novice......:r

A hydrometer is used for two purposes. It is first used in juice to determine the sugar content. The sugar content gives you a good idea how much alcohol you'll end up with. For example, if you measure a SG of 1.095, it will be a 12% wine.

The hydrometer is then used to track the progress of fermentation. Once it hits 0.990, or does not change for a few days, fermentation is done.

Specific Gravity is a number-based reading scale for determining how much sugar is dissolved in your must (future wine). As you add more sugar to a liquid, the SG number gets higher... As fermentation proceeds and the yeast convert said-sugar into alcohol and CO2, the number falls back down.

Water has an SG of 1.000
Alcohol is "lighter" than water, which is how we get SG's in the .990-.999 range

Readings are taken prior to fermentation, during fermentation and after fermentation