Cellar Craft CC Sterling vs Showcase

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

ajhughes

Reaction score
Hi all,

Hoping someone out there who has experience with both levels of kits can provide guidance here.

I'm relatively new to kits and have made a few higher end kits and most of them are aging as we speak. I'm ready now to start a few more and have been talking with my LHBS owner and he was suggesting CC kits and suggesting I try the Sterling 12L kits. I'm trying to understand in general terms what the differences are between the higher end 18L and 16L kits vs a 12L kit.

Is the main difference the ability to age? i.e. a 12L will drink earlier and not age as well?

I noticed many of these kits have Crushed Grape Pack, does this mean they'll have similar body, etc?

I've heard the more concentrated the juice is, the more likely you are to notice Kit Taste (not sure I'm clear on what the is)...

Any guidance or experience you can share would be greatly appreciated!

Thanks for asking this one - I will be interested to see what gets posted. I have done several kits of each (Sterling and Showcase) but they are not yet ready for drinking, so i do not know what the differences are, (other than the obvious $30 over the counter).
What I *can* say is that those crushed grapes taste like heaven itself when you take them out of the primary. Only problem is, you'll be pulling grape seeds out of your teeth for the next 24 hours

=:O

Last edited:
For the most part, in wine kits, you get what you pay for. There are some exceptions. The Sterling group of kits and maybe WE's Luna Rossa and Mezza Luna kits are exceptions. I like my Old vine Zin sterling kit. Its 9 months old and is great. I've done a few CC Showcase kits and $ for $ these are great kits and will beat the Sterling line hands down.

Hi Andrew,