Barrel Success

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

eblasmn9

Reaction score
2012-12-15_15-17-16_840.jpg

48 hours after filling the barrel with water the leaks stopped. I waited till day 4 to make sure the water soaked into the barrel enough and then I filled it with Down Under Shiraz/Cab Sav/Petite Verdot. After a couple of hours there were several very small leaks in several joints which quicky dried up. It has now been 3 days with no leaks.:h
I somehow feel like I graduated into a higher level of winemaking. I think I'll celebrate tonight.:dg
Spraying kmeta onto the wine stains on the barrel really does work. Thanks Mike.

Very nice! I'll be prepping mine in a few days. What kind of stopper are you using, and what's this about KMeta removing stains?

Jim

Very nice! I'll be prepping mine in a few days. What kind of stopper are you using, and what's this about KMeta removing stains?

Jim

Jim, if you get wine stains on the outside of your barrel, just spritz them with K-meta solution from a spray bottle and they will fade almost completely. The bung that he is showing on the barrel probably came from Vadai. I use a #8.5 drilled stopper on mine with an airlock early on and then go to the stoppers sold by Vadai.

Last edited:
Looks great. I hope to barrel age at some point. Question? Since you cannot see in barrel, do you not rack into barrel until all lees have been cleared in a carboy. Guess I am just wondering how you bottle and make sure there is no sediment.

Correct, you should wait until you have a clear wine that has been fined and stabilized before you add it to the barrel.

Jim,