A Sincere Word of Thanks

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

mromilio

Reaction score
Hello all-

I'm new to this hobby. Started last christmas with a Mr. Beer kit, made 5 or 6 batches of mediocre beer, and unsatisfied with the fruits of my labor, decided to branch out into more advanced beer brewing using more sophisticated equipment.

Instead, I ran into a few articles about making fruit wines, and decided to get into small batch 1 gallon winemaking. Picked up a winemakers kit from Midwest Supply and got a recipe for Strawberry from the included booklet that came with the kit. The recipe was bare bones, and as it sat fermenting, I began to eat up research on the web on winemaking. I came across the app for this forum on the iPad, and haven't looked back since.

Based on the posts by the helpful, experienced and friendly members of this forum, I learned the basics of the right way to make wine. I learned recipes like DD's Dragon Blood, Welch's Concord Grape from frozen concentrate, and a Cherry Pie recipe that I will be starting next week.

I've got the Welchs in secondary right now, waiting to be racked again in about 2 months, the Strawberry aging right now, a white berry grape from concentrate has just been racked, and the beautiful Dragon Blood about to be bottled in a week's time. I took a taste right after backsweetening the Dragon Blood and realized at that point, I can make drinkable wine! That clinched it for me. I can't see another period of the rest of my life that I don't have a gallon fermenting some sort of wine.