$200 to spend....

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Reilly

Reaction score
Let's say you just bought a new wine making kit. It has all the basics you need to start this crazy journey. Now you have $200 to spend. What tools/equipment/supplies would you buy to supplement the kit???

Remember - the kit only comes with a single primary and carboy & hand corker - just the basics.

Well if you're going to get serious in this then I would recommend the allinone. Its the best back, and labor saving device. Its a little more than the 200.00 but worth every penny.

Well I am new at this, but the very first penny you should spend is on a hydrometer! An acid test kit if you are not making kits. Then some brushes, plastic spoon, wine thief, and a couple of jugs for cleaner and sanitizer solutions.

I agree with dralarms that the All In One pump is a great investment. However, it would not be my first purchase if I only had the basics. Everything will depend on how much wine you plan to make. One or two kits per year, you are probably okay with what you have. If you are like most of us, it will be more like 10 or 20 kits per year you will need some other stuff. I found the following helpful when I got back into wine making:

more carboys of different sizes, e.g. 6.5 gallon, 6 gallon, 5 gallon, 3 gallon, 1 gallon and 1/2 gallon jugs.
holed stoppers for the above
airlocks for the above
a second fermenter (if you plan to make larger than 6 gallon batches, you might consider a 20 gallon fermenter)
potassium metabisulfite, 1 lb bag (for mixing up sanitizing solution)
an Auto Siphon if one did not come with your kit
a second hydrometer and a second thermometer (assuming you have one of each in your kit. If not, buy two of each)
carboy and bottle brushes
bottle rinser/sanitizer (if one did not come with your kit)