2 More Questions

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Barney

Reaction score
Ok, two more...

Since I am new to this hobby, I am starting with 1 gallon batches which require me to use allmy juice. Once I rack to my secondary it is not a full gallon. Can I top off with water or should I get more juice to top off with?

Also, if I decide to back sweeten, do I use sugar water or juice or is it just what ever I like?

Thanks in advance for all the help.

Hi Barney, I would start with a little over a gallon since you do not
want to add more juice as this will turn into more alc. and over power
the taste of the wine you are making unless your shooting for a high
alc wine. Each time you add sugar it will start fermenting until
exhaust the yeasts ability. Most yeasts will yeild around 16%, some are
lower and some are higher. You probably will not want to water it down
as you will lose flavor. So, in my opinion and thgis is what I do, I
start of with a gallon and a half and when I rack it I fill the gallon
jug all the way and use a wine bottle to hold the rest. You will need a
smaller bung and another airlock to do this though. After racking again
you will need the last bottle of overage to bulk age. Good luck.

Wade, when you make 1 gallon and a half do you increase the ingredients proportionately (yeast excepted)?

As you continue racking you will lose more volume, requiring topping up each time. You can also use sanitized marbles for topping up. I would still go with the larger starting amount and then in later racking toss in the marbles.

Smoke, everything must be added to as you said except the packet of yest as 1 packet is good for up to 6 gallons.

Thanks, Wade. Guess I have to go pick some more dandelions now that I have to increase my starting volume. : )