Where to start

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

jmyers63

Reaction score
I'm just getting started in this winemaking thing and see so many posts on making fruit wines. I just started a small batch of blackberry and am anxious to see how it turns out. Now my question, we love full bodied, dry grape wines but are unfamiliar with fruit wines. Any suggestions on what we might like?

most any fruit you ferment will make a good wine far as i'm concerned if you want a fruit wine like what your describing you'll need to do a couple of things. 1 use as much extra fruit as you can get per gallon for instance if normal recipe says 4 pounds per gallon use 6 or 7 and get the starting sg to at a minimum of 1.085, I prefer a higher starting sg myself. The main thing is patience with a dry fruit wine you have to give them time to smooth out back sweetening just a small amount will make it drinkable a lot sooner in my opinion. You'll find as you get into this hobby/obsession that you'll try more and more ways to do this craft as there is no wrong or right way only certain things you must do to achieve the end result which is good wine that you like. Also ask questions for anything you don't think is right or wrong.

try finding a fruit you like blackberry is a good one to start with only thing is when dry it will have a bit of a bite/bitterness to it when young. Apple is a good fruit or peaches both can have plenty of body

Elderberry and Sour Cherry make nice wines too... Like Sirs said... there are so many choices, and we all have our favorites. You'll need to start a lot and try them all! Oh... get more jugs, carboys and anything else you can get your hands on. Check Craigs List, Freecycle... all of it!

Debbie