Walkers wine juice acid

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

audmkamp

Reaction score
I just started a jug of Traminette from Walker's Wine Juice Farm in NY.
The jug says 1.18 acid, which seems very high as I'm used to seeing acid expressed as 0.5%, 0.6%, etc.

Could it really be 1.18% or are they using some measurement unit I'm not accustomed to? This is my first attempt at wine from juice instead of fruit or a kit.

I've already transferred to a carboy & pitched the yeast, so any adjustments will have to be made post-ferment. Should I expect acid to be high at the end, & what might I need to plan on doing a that time to balance it out?

I just started a jug of Traminette from Walker's Wine Juice Farm in NY.
The jug says 1.18 acid, which seems very high as I'm used to seeing acid expressed as 0.5%, 0.6%, etc.

Could it really be 1.18% or are they using some measurement unit I'm not accustomed to? This is my first attempt at wine from juice instead of fruit or a kit.

I've already transferred to a carboy & pitched the yeast, so any adjustments will have to be made post-ferment. Should I expect acid to be high at the end, & what might I need to plan on doing a that time to balance it out?
Its not a mistake or a different form of measurement, welcome to the Lake Erie region juices. All are screaming high acid! Be prepared for a thick layer of tartaric acid crystals in the bottom of your carboy.
There is a reason that most of the wine from this region is sweet, it is to balance the acids.

Wast his a hot pack? That does seem awfully high. Sorry I can't help you, my juice I got from them were all around .85% to .90%. I didn't get a traminette. Did you take a reading yourself?