Other To age or not to age, that is the question....

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

tanyalc

Reaction score
I am new to this hobby (or obsession) and I have not managed to age any of my wine. How do you all do it?

Made so far:

1. Wicked - Hard Lemonade - bottled June 2011 (0/30 bottles left)

2. Argentina Ridge - Chardonnay - bottled December 2011 (0/30 left) - hated it , gave away

3. Argentina Ridge - Cabernet Sauvignon - bottled December 2011 (0/30 left) - gave 4 or 5 away

4. Argentina Ridge - Chardonnay - bottled February 2012 (0/30 left) - hated it , gave all away

5. Argentina Ridge - Cabernet Sauvignon - bottled February 2012 (0/30 left) gave 4 or 5 away

4. Argentina Ridge - Merlot - bottled bottled May 2012 (14/30 left) - gave 3 away

5. Wicked - Hard Lime - bottled May 2012 (10/30 bottles left) gave 5 away

6. Argentina Ridge - Cabernet Sauvignon - bottling soon - June 2012 (30/30 left)

7. Country Mist - Raspberry White Zinfindal - bottling soon - July 2012 (30/30 left)

As you can see I have made a few in the last year but I don't have a lot left (FYI - don't drink it all myself - I do have some helpful friends) and have aged none.

Is it just will power or is there a secret? I definitely don't want to go out and buy wine when I have bottles at home.

Patience grasshopper.....

You have much to learn.

Yes buy as much commercial wine as you need to let your own stuff age. If you can't let it age, perhaps try making beer. No aging required!

...Or you can do what I'm doing. Make more than you can drink and eventually you'll get ahead of yourself. But it take can take A LOT of corboys :dg:dg:p I've got 7 carboys of just Chardonnay in the works. not to mention 8 carboys of reds and 2 other whites going. But I'm obsessive :sm