Tiny bubbles...

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

botigol

Beer, mead and wine...oh my! :0)
Reaction score
Hi,

I originally posted this in the recipe section, but thought that I would repost in order to put it in front of a larger audience:

I started a batch of Apfelwein on 9/1 using unfiltered juice and Cotes des Blancs yeast. The initial fementation went fine, except that I had trouble measuring the SG. There was so much gas that my hydrometer would drop and then immediately start rising. I racked it after a week and figured that I would just leave it alone. Now, three months later, I still have a small amount of tiny bubbles rising in the carboy. The ambient and wine temperatures have been in the mid-60s for the past ten weeks. I am still very new at this, but 90 days seems like a long time for fermentation to still be in process. I could take another reading, but since I don't have a valid number from before I don't know how much value it would bring. Any thoughts on this?

Thanks!

RegionalRat already gave me, what in retrospect seems like, an obvious solution to the testing issue, but I am still wondering about having bubbles rising after so long. I haven't opened the carboy in some time, just waiting for the wine to do its thing. Still under airlock.

Have you tried any mechanical (e.g. stirring) or vacuum degassing? If it were I, I would get a sample amount out of the carboy and in a bottle, cover the top with your hand and shake the bottle to induce gas. Do this repeatedly until there is not more gas, pour it into a testing tube and then take an SG reading. How clear is the batch? Your are correct in stating that 90 days should be more than sufficient time to complete fermentation. Let us know what you learn.