thinking in a cheap wine kit, will improve?

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Al_73

Junior
Reaction score
Since theres no way to get grapes in this season in my region, i have the idea of go on a wine kit, lets say something like 60-65 dlls for a 6 gal. and since i have no experience in grape wine before maybe i"ll practice in something for the moment, is There is a way to improve the wine regardless of the time?, maybe adding something to increase body?
Or the wine will come just fine according to the kit instructions....

lets say, adding a better yeast...!
IMO, changing the yeast in a cheap kit will accomplish nothing. It's still a cheap kit.

However, I have no idea what kit will cost you $60-65. Are there some that you were thinking about?

IMO, you are better off getting a better quality kit.

Steve

Vintners Reserve kits are OK, not good, but not bad either. They are a just bit watered down. Very drinkable, though.

i saw this ones yesterday Steve, obviously there's a better one but i just got curious about it,my idea was to just try making drinkable wine....thanks!
http://www.midwestsupplies.com/winemaking-ingredients/wine-recipe-kits/vintner-s-reserve.html
Al:

When I started making wine, the first couple of kits that were made were better quality kits. But then we made a couple of VR/equivalent kits. We enjoyed them all. But they were all whites or blushes. The reds do tend to be weaker than the better kits.

What you're going to like depends a lot on your personal tastes.

Steve

ok, thanks to all

I''ll purchase one of these and another best quality, but right now i want to make some wine!,
saludosss

What about adding raisins or banana skins or a grape pack? Wouldn't those help him improve the kit? Or adding a fruit?

Bulk aging with oak? (assuming it's not already included in the kit)

Last edited: