The Whole Process

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

alexchaskell

ApogeeFan
Reaction score
I am new to winemaking. I did ask 1 questions before about blending. What I wanted to get straight was the entire process of wine making. Can anyone out there tell me the step by step process of making white wine? Also, the process for Rose wine. My gf's sister is getting married next fall and I wanted to make her some rose as a gift. Please let me know. Thank you!

Wine making is very simple and in many areas foregiving. Some areas there is no room for deviation. Cleanliness along with Patience are two.

I would suggest you do some browsing here to get a basic idea. We can help you along the way. Will you be making a kit or starting with juice? Is there a wine supply store near you where you can get supplies etc.? Some you will need to purchase and some you could rent.

Probably the best way to learn would be to make a small batch of Skeeter Pee. It's quick and a great learning experience. Plus if you mess up, It's very inexpensive. Recipe is in the "recipe" section found on the Home Page here.

If you are new to winemaking, I'd suggest you start by making a couple of kit wines. The kit manufacturers go to great pains to select good fruit. Their lab techs are experts at putting all the elements together to make a good wine. If you follow the directions that come with the kit, you'll get a good wine. People starting out from scratch often go through a period of trial and error. You don't want to give an error as a wedding gift. There are lots of different kits available. Let us know what wine she normally enjoys and we can recommend a kit that you'll be happy with.