Sweetening Question - Please Help!

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

ZakKnight92

Junior
Reaction score
I'm fairly new to winemaking and I would like to know the general steps in sweetening my wine.

First, Zak, welcome to the forum.

Sweetening, normally referred to as "back sweetening," is best accomplished in these steps:

1. ferment your wine to dry, i.e. SG at 0.992 or so.
2. stabilize your with with K-meta (1/4 teaspoon for 5-6 gallons) and K-sorbate (1/2 teaspoon per gallon). The former protects the wine from bacteria that can spoil the wine and the latter is to prevent re-fermentation after sugar is added.
3. add the sweetener which can be simple syrup (2 parts sugar fully dissolved in 1 part water), various fruits or fruit juice, to taste or to a target SG. Most people start to discern sweetness at SG 1.000 and very sweet wines are SG 1.020-1.025. This is best accomplished by bench testing and scaling up.
4. observe the wine for a few days to assure that fermentation does not restart.

To second Rocky's post, make sure you also put an air-lock and not screw caps ...!!!

I am going through a batch that re-engaged fermentation after back-sweeten and I tell you I got so pissed off when it burst one of the gallon jugs in pieces and the wine lost, just a lesson learned..!!

One thing to remember is all wines don't taste sweet at the same Specific Gravity. Acid levels have a lot to do with how sweet a wine taste. Concord wine is a great example. One year you may get grapes with low acid and it won't need a lot of back sweetening. The next year the weather may be off and the grapes end up with a lot of acid. You will need more sugar to get the same level of sweetness if this happens.